Art

Far too many people overlook art. Most people have taken an art class, but few appreciate famous art pieces and art history as a whole. I took AP Art History and AP European History in high school, both of which gave me exposure to hundreds of artists, styles, and medias. If you ever get the chance to take an art class, even if you think you aren’t into art, I highly recommend it. I had zero appreciation for art before I took those classes but I left at the end of the year able to love it.

When some people hear “art” they only think of paintings. One of my favorite pieces of art is actually a sculpture. Weary Herakles by Lysippos was sculpted in the fourth century B.C. The sculpture is one of my favorite works of art because it tells a story of triumph. Herakles leans on his club with the pelt of the Nemean Lion draped over it. Then, in his hand that is hidden behind his back, he holds the apples of Hesperides. This suggests that he has just completed his Twelve Labors.

e90727cec20f3a7d645e5551ece3f64f
The Weary Herakles. Photo credit: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/447052700484914136/

The current background on my computer is A Bigger Splash by David Hockney. This piece is just so aesthetically appealing to me. The bright pastel colors are relaxing and the scene depicted is one of lavish living. I imagine myself plunging into a cool pool with a view of the city below me. It’s a huge piece of pop art, over 6 feet tall and wide. I’d like to buy it one day and put it up in my house.

hockney_a_bigger_splash
A Bigger Splash. Picture Credit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Bigger_Splash#/media/File:Hockney,_A_Bigger_Splash.jpg

It’s a little cliche but one of my other favorite pieces is The Creation of Adam by Michelangelo. Other than its obvious fame, I love this piece because of its beauty. I mean, look at it. Good lord. Painted in the Sistine Chapel, the image of God creating Adam is actually breathtaking. I need to go to the Sistine Chapel and visit Italy. I also want to visit The Louvre in France. Whenever I see a light blue sky with puffy white clouds late in the day, I think of The Creation of Adam, imagining two hands coming together in the famous form. I have also decided that if I had the ability to master any type of painting, I’d choose to be able to paint extravagant skies with varying shades of blue and clouds. What would be your choice?

the-creation-of-adam
The Creation of Adam. Picture Credit: http://www.michelangelo.org/the-creation-of-adam.jsp

426 words

2 thoughts on “Art

  1. Hey man I was just like you when I didn’t appreciate art. I had the glorious chance to go to Rome and Paris. I got to see all the magnificent art and buildings from the Roman Empire age and on. I also was able to tour the Sistine Chapel and see all of Michelangelo’s paintings, including his famous pieces, “The Creation of Adam” and “The Last Judgement. Seeing all the olden sculptures, paintings, and buildings, I learned to appreciate the times and culture of the era. I very much enjoyed your post.

    Like

  2. What’s funny is that when I saw the sculpture of Herakles I was immediately reminded to the episode of Spongebob where Squidward was trying to be a sculptor. Ha.

    Like

Leave a comment